The American Institute for CPCU and Insurance Institute of America (the Institutes) have made changes to its Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) program.

Effective immediately, the CPCU experience requirement is changing from three years to two years. The new two-year experience requirement applies to all CPCU students and candidates who qualify for the class of 2010 and beyond, regardless of when the individual began the program.

Exams for the following courses will change from short essay to objective format beginning with the January 15 to March 15, 2010, testing window:

CPCU 520—Insurance Operations, Regulation and Statutory Accounting
CPCU 530—The Legal Environment of Insurance
CPCU 540—Finance for Risk Management and Insurance Professionals
The exams will consist of 85 to 100 questions. Time allotted to complete these exams will be three hours, the same amount of time given for other CPCU exams.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access