To alleviate apparent confusion over storm surge and flooding predictions that were in conflict with the reality of events when a hurricane made landfall, the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale  was updated by the National Weather Services’ National Hurricane Center, which is part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

The revised scale will continue to classify and/or identify hurricanes by maximum sustained wind speeds. a storm with winds reaching 74 mph is considered Category 1. Category 3 and higher is considered a "major hurricane,'' and a Category 4 storm is capable of damaging well-built homes. The strongest storm—with winds greater than 155 mph—is considered a Category 5 hurricane.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access