ACORD's Board of Directors approved a motion appointing the members of the new ACORD Standards Committee (ASC). The 15-member ASC is comprised of Domain Steering Committee and Subcommittee Chairs as well as three ACORD Board directors who will be collectively responsible for leading the ACORD standards process at all levels.

The three domains are Life & Annuity, Property & Casualty/Surety, and Reinsurance/Large Commercial. Each Domain Steering Committee will include three subcommittees that address business requirements, technical requirements, and implementation and advocacy. 

The details and responsibilities of the new ASC emerged from the ACORD Standards Program General Guidelines & Procedures and standards process revisions announced in June 2004. Under the new structure, ASC members are directly involved in and will oversee the work of their respective committees, subcommittees and working groups. This provides ASC members with a more "hands on" approach and involvement in the everyday activities of ACORD's member volunteers and increases their accountability for the activities of their individual committees and domains.

Committee members will also be able to share the specific projects and objectives, cross-pollinating standards activities. The ASC will coordinate all cross-domain activities providing a common direction and continuity. The release earlier in 2004 of ACORD's Document Repository Interface Standard that impacted all lines of business illustrated the cross-domain efforts.

The ACORD Standards Committee members appointed by ACORD's Board of Directors are:

ACORD Standards Committee Directors

Chairman, ACORD Standards Committee: John Leonard, President & CEO, MEMIC
Vice Chairman, ACORD Standards Committee:  Andy Fogarty, Outside Director, ACORD
Vice Chairman, ACORD Standards Committee:  John Kellington, Senior Vice President, Chief Technology Officer, Ohio Casualty Insurance Group

Life and Annuity Domain Steering Committee

Domain Steering Committee Chair: Vallerie Moeller, Business Architect, IT Architecture Team at the Financial Markets Group, AEGON USA
Business Subcommittee Chair: Chris Chartrand, Senior Vice President and CIO, Genworth
Technology Subcommittee Chair : Andrew Falvey, IT Manager in Integrated Distribution, ING Americas
Implementation Subcommittee Chair: Michael Sladek, VP Sales, Zurich Life

Property & Casualty/Surety Domain Steering Committee

Domain Steering Committee Chair Spero Zacharias, International Field Operations Manager, Chubb Group
Business Subcommittee Chair: James Mason, Director, Business Solutions, AON Corporation
Technology Subcommittee Chair: Sandi Perillo, Technical Analyst, The Hartford
Implementation Subcommittee Chair: Mele Fuller, Agency Interface, Industry Standards, SAFECO

Reinsurance and Large Commercial Domain Steering Committee

Domain Steering Committee Chair Juergen Heck, Head of Governance & Process Area, Global IT, Swiss Re
Business Subcommittee Chair: Sal Branca, SVP, Reinsurance Service Division, AIG
Technology Subcommittee Chair: Michael Smith, Manager, Business Process Reform (Claims and Standards), Lloyd's
Implementation Subcommittee Chair: Paul Fox, Chief Information Officer, Guy Carpenter

Source: ACORD

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access