Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) announced the election its 2010 officers. The newly elected officers will assume their duties following the completion of the organization's Winter National Meeting.

The appointments include:

President: West Virginia Insurance Commissioner Jane Cline
President-Elect: Iowa Insurance Commissioner Susan Voss
Vice President: Florida Insurance Commissioner Kevin McCarty
Secretary-Treasurer: Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner Kim Holland

Jane Cline was appointed West Virginia insurance commissioner in 2001. Prior to her appointment as commissioner, Cline operated a government consulting firm, Jane L. Cline & Associates. Before that, Cline served as commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles and as deputy commissioner of the West Virginia Division of Highways.

Susan Voss was appointed Iowa insurance commissioner in 2005. Prior to her appointment as commissioner, she served as Iowa's first deputy commissioner. Voss has held a number of different positions with state government, including assistant attorney general for the Iowa Department of Transportation, legal counsel to the state ombudsman, counsel to the Iowa Legislature in the area of taxation and economic development, and tax policy attorney for the Iowa Department of Revenue and Finance.

Kevin McCarty is the commissioner of the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation. McCarty became Florida's first appointed insurance commissioner in January 2003. He is responsible for Florida's insurance market, with oversight of company solvency, policy forms and rates, market investigations and new insurance business. McCarty began his career in public service in 1988, becoming an expert in workers' compensation issues with the Florida Department of Labor and Employment Security.

Kim Holland became the first woman to be elected Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner in 2006. A business woman and active civic volunteer before becoming insurance commissioner, Holland is a former board member of the Oklahoma Health Care Authority and the Oklahoma State Employees Benefits Council. Commissioner Holland is the recipient of the statewide 2007 Public Service Champion of Health, which recognizes her contributions to reducing uninsured in our state.

2010 Zone Officers Elected

NAIC members also elected 2010 zone officers during the Winter National Meeting. The newly elected zone officers will assume their duties following the completion of the national meeting.

Midwestern Zone

Michael McRaith - Chair, Illinois Director of Insurance
Merle Scheiber - Vice Chair, South Dakota Insurance Director
Mary Jo Hudson - Secretary, Ohio Insurance Director

Northeastern Zone

Thomas Sullivan - Chair, Connecticut Insurance Commissioner
Joel Ario - Vice Chair, Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner
Paulette Thabault - Secretary, Vermont Insurance Commissioner

Southeastern Zone

Scott Richardson - Chair, South Carolina Insurance Director
Leslie Newman - Vice Chair, Tennessee Insurance Commissioner
Jim Donelon - Secretary, Louisiana Insurance Commissioner

Western Zone

Linda Hall - Chair, Alaska Insurance Director
Mo Chavez - Vice Chair, New Mexico Insurance Superintendent
Christina Urias - Secretary, Arizona Insurance Director

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access