Standards organization ACORD announced yesterday that MEMIC Group's President and CEO John Leonard has been re-elected by the ACORD Board of Directors as the 2010 Chair. Additionally, David Findley also was re-elected as the Board's Vice-Chair.

Leonard began with MEMIC in 1993 after a 27-year career with The Travelers, where he led the Commercial Lines Agency Marketing and Underwriting division. He is a former president of the American Association of State Compensation Insurance Funds and former chairman of its executive committee.

He also serves on the Board of Directors for the American Society of Workers' Comp Professionals Inc., is the Vice Chair of the National Council on Compensation Insurance, serves on the Board of Directors of the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies and was a member of the National Workers' Compensation Reinsurance Pool Board.

Currently, Leonard sits on the Boards of Directors of MEMIC, MEMIC Indemnity Co., the Maine State Chamber of Commerce and the Pine Tree Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

Vice-Chair David Findley served as the COO Property/Casualty Insurance Operations at The Travelers. He joined the company in 1968 as a commercial lines underwriter in Ottawa, Canada. In 1971 he transferred to New York City and later to the Hartford home office. In Hartford, he held several commercial lines positions responsible for a variety of accounting, policy and loss processing operations before being named SVP in 1998. Findley is a current board member of the Agents Council for Technology of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America.

In addition, ACORD members elected several new directors: Jeremy D. Cooke, Marsh Inc.; Art Jetter, National Association of Independent Life Brokerage Agencies; Jim Pedersen, Fireman's Fund; Markus Schmid, Swiss Re; and Tim Wright, Willis Group.

The following is a complete listing of the 2010 Board of Directors:

Chair: John Leonard, MEMIC
Vice-Chair: David Findley, Outside Director
Gregory A. Maciag, ACORD

Lawrence Blakeman, MetLife
Bill Bloom, Travelers
Sal Branca, Chartis
Lawrence Brandon, American Institute for CPCU
Andrew G. Cassidy, Council of Insurance Agents & Brokers  
Jeremy D. Cooke, Marsh, Inc.
Andy Fogarty, Outside Director
Al Iuppa, Zurich
Rainer Janssen, Munich Re Group 
Art Jetter, National Association of Independent Life Brokerage Agencies
James Knight, Chubb and Son
Barbara Koster, Prudential Financial
Sue Langley, Lloyd's of London
Frank Liu, China Life Insurance Company, Ltd.
Dennis Mahoney, Outside Director
Brian O'Connell, The Hartford
Jim Pedersen, Fireman's Fund
William Pieroni, State Farm Insurance
Keith Savino, National Association of Professional Insurance Agents
Markus Schmid, Swiss Re
Bob Slocum, Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America  
Tim Wright, Willis Group

For a full listing of the 2010 Board of Directors along with photos and biographies, visit ACORD's Web site.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access