The American Academy of Actuaries board of directors has elected Tom Wildsmith as president-elect. The American Academy of Actuaries is an 18,500-member association that aims to serve the public and the U.S. actuarial profession.

Wildsmith is an actuary who serves as senior public policy manager in Aetna’s Washington office. He will succeed Mary D. Miller as president for the 2015-2016 term. Wildsmith previously served as the academy’s VP, health. He currently serves as chairperson of the Health Practice Council Communications Committee and of the Medicare Steering Committee, and is a member of the Public Interest Committee.

The academy elected five members to fill officer positions who also serve on the board, with terms beginning on Nov. 13. John Moore, COO and chief actuary of The Terry Group, was re-elected to a second one-year term as secretary. Art Panighetti, AVP, regulatory and projects actuary at Pacific Life Insurance Co., was re-elected to a third one-year term as treasurer.

The Academy’s board of directors also elected three members to serve two-year terms as vice presidents. Shawna Ackerman, chief actuary of the California Earthquake Authority, is VP of the academy’s Casualty Practice Council. Cathy Murphy-Barron, a consulting actuary with Milliman Inc., is VP of the academy’s Health Practice Council. And, Ken Kent, principal consulting actuary with Cheiron Inc., is VP for the academy’s Council on Professionalism.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access