Only terrorist acts "certified" by the Secretary of the Treasury, in concurrence with the Secretary of State and Attorney General of the United States, are covered by the new federal program. These "certified acts" are defined as:* Violent endangerment of people, property and infrastructure.

* Damage within the United States and its terrorities or to U.S. air carriers and vessels or

U.S. missions.

* Perpetrated on behalf of foreign interests or foreign persons to influence U.S. policy.

* Not part of a declared war, except for workers' compensation.

* Involving insured property and casualty losses over $5 million.

Note: The Terrorist Risk Insurance Act only covers attacks perpetrated by foreign interests. An incident such as the Oklahoma City bombing, for example, would not be covered under this program.

Source: Tillinghast-Towers Perrin, December 2002

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access