Attendees gathered in Washington for the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America’s (IIABA) annual Big “I” Legislative Conference & Convention and were witness to a number of award announcements.

Bob Fulwider, principal and president of the Ray Wuestenberg Agency Inc. and the Fulwider Agency Inc., was presented with the Woodworth Memorial Award. The award, which IIABA said is the highest honor the association bestows on one of its members, recognizes the meritorious and outstanding contributions of an independent agent or broker to the national association, to his or her IIABA colleagues and to the insurance industry.

Fulwider, who also is president of Bob Fulwider and Associates, a life-and-health financial-planning agency, has been active with the association at the national and state levels since starting his career as an independent agent in 1973. He is a past president of the Independent Insurance Agents of Iowa, a two-time Agent of the Year and a 2003 inductee to the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame.

Clay Jackson of BB&T Insurance Services is the 2011 recipient of the Sidney O. Smith Award. This award is bestowed annually by the IIABA and the Independent Insurance Agents of Georgia upon an individual agent or broker for outstanding service to his or her peers and the national association in the field of government affairs. It is named in honor of an IIABA past president and Georgia agent who was instrumental in focusing the association and its members on legislative advocacy.

Forrest “Brick” Schnobrich received the 2011 Barney Burns Award, which is named after former IIABA President Barney Burns, who founded InsurPac in 1975 and served as chairman of its Board of Trustees until 1983. During his tenure, Barney worked tirelessly to educate agents about the importance of being politically active and contributing to InsurPac. Schnobrich spent countless hours dialing for dollars, engaging agents and encouraging them to become more politically active and support InsurPac, said Jon Jensen, IIABA government affairs committee chairman.

The New Hampshire Association of Insurance Agents is the recipient of the 2011 Herndon Award. The award is presented annually by the IIABA and the Independent Insurance Agents of Illinois (IIAI) to the state association with legislative achievements the previous year on behalf of IIABA and its members that have been deemed most outstanding.

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Digital Insurance content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access